The homeschooling movement is growing. Many families are choosing to teach their children from home. Before you begin, it is important for you to be aware of the home schooling laws and requirements. Below is a list of 10 requirements that you should know before you start homeschooling:
1. Inform Local District
Parents of children who home school are required to notify their local school district that their child will be home schooled. Consequently, in the state of Washington, you must decide to home school your child before they turn 8 years old. In Kentucky, the registration age is 6 years old. Every state has their own set of regulations regarding age. It is important to check with your local school district.
2. Withdraw from Public School
If your child is currently attends public school, you must formally withdraw them. That is to say, schools require this in writing before the beginning of the new school year. Most schools have standardized forms for this.
Since you will be your child’s educator, you will have to meet specific homeschooling qualifications. Typically, you will have to complete 45 college credits in education.
If you do not meet the requirements as a home teacher, you must work with the school to track your child’s progress. Most school districts will your child to attend a one-hour session with a certified instructor weekly.
Some schools also offer a home school qualification course that is helpful if you do not meet the minimum home schooling standards. Until the parents in charge of home schooling meets the minimum requirements, a child may need to be monitored.
5. Good Curriculum
Your home school curriculum must have the minimum topics that are mandatory for your child’s grade level. Elementary school subjects include math, language, arts, science, social studies, health, physical education, art and music. Junior High and High School students have much more requirements and have to fulfill practical application requirements.
You must assess your home school student periodically. Its important to evaluate your child’s advancement and comprehension of the curriculum.
7. Record Keeping
All records of your child’s curriculum and progress much be kept. You must monitor your child’s progress and test scores throughout their schooling. These records will be useful if you decide to send your child into the school system. The local school district may require you to submit them.
8. Testing Procedures
Home school students must take a state-wide annual standardized evaluation. This evaluation starts at the third grade level. Your child may take this exam at a school setting or a designated testing facility.
9. Regulations and Guidelines
The state governments regulate home schooling. However, certain states allow the parents to control how to conduct their home school. Some of these states include Alaska, New Jersey, Idaho, Connecticut, Indiana,
In North Dakota, Vermont, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, New York and Pennsylvania home schooling requirements are strictly regulated by the state. In these states, you should research the requirements for homeschooling. This will help you avoid penalties and possible legal issues.